What's new
Christian Community Forum

Welcome to Christian Community Forum. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can someone listen to this sermon and help me out?

Amethyst

† He hath shed his own blood for my soul
I am not very good at explaining to others why a sermon doesnt sit right with me, unless preacher explicitly says something really wrong.
I went back to a larger church in my area yesterday to see if the sermons were any different and I tried telling my sister why I just couldnt feel comfortable sitting under him or even growing.

Preaching starts at around 29:00 and of course you can skim through it as needed.
Tell me all that you find not good about it so I can articulate it better.
Or maybe if I am too judgy and off-base?

Please? 😚

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irHBtQwvoD0

I listened to the entire sermon. Kyle idleman is a solid preacher. In fact he often speaks to pastors. I have benefited from his insights in the past. So I was rolling with him as he spoke of the "they" in Romans 1. But then he began speaking of the "you" --in other words he was referring to me-- in Romans 2, and I was like "Hey, wait a minute, your technically correct, but because of Christ you are wrong." In other words I became defensive, ready to argue hermeneutics ... and almost totally missing his point. He was right. And as he opened up the development of Paul's argument from chapter 1 to chapter 3, I saw the brilliance of that argument ... for the first time in that particular passage.